Anne Carson’s Euripides: Eight Takes on Trojan Women (2021) and H of H Playbook (2021)

ANNE CARSON’S EURIPIDES

Eight Takes on Trojan Women (2021) and H of H Playbook (2021)

 

Friday, April 29th, 2022 (9am Pacific Time/ 11am Central Time/ 5pm UK)

 

Organized by

Laura Jansen (Bristol), Sarah Nooter (Chicago) and Mario Telò (Berkeley)

 

Under the auspices of

Bristol Poetry Institute, University of Bristol

Critical Theory, University of California, Berkeley

Poetry and Poetics, The University of Chicago

 

Following her innovative translations of Euripides in Grief Lessons (2006) and her creative play with book form in Nox (2010) and Float (2016), Anne Carson’s recent dialogue with Euripides is amongst her boldest. Trojan Women (2021), a graphic ‘comics poem’, and H of H (2021), an ‘explosion of thought’ in the shape of a playbook with illustrations and notes, are a feast to the imagination for readers of Euripides and Carson. This event will present eight takes on the two works by poets, artists, essayists, and scholars. We aim to consider the books in relation to matters of tragedy and materiality, hybrid translation practices, the forms of the book, chimeric approaches to art, and myth and justice. A round table discussion will follow with an appreciation of the contribution that Anne Carson has made to the reception of Euripides in textual and visual form.

 

Participants

Phoebe Giannisi (University of Thessaly)

Kay Gabriel (New York)

Laura Jansen (University of Bristol)

Rebecca Kosick (University of Bristol)

Sarah Nooter (The University of Chicago)

Patrice Rankine (The University of Chicago)

Ian Rae (King’s College at Western University)

Mario Telò (University of California, Berkeley)

 

We recommend early booking. For bookings and general enquiries, please contact the organisers ([email protected][email protected] and [email protected])