International Conference: ‘Writing Letters in the Ancient World: Fictional and Real Letters from the first Century BC to the fifth Century AD’

‘Writing Letters in the Ancient World: Fictional and Real Letters from the first Century BC to the fifth Century AD’.

 

The conference will take place on 25-26 November on-line on Microsoft Teams.   You can attend via this link.

 

25 November 2021

9-9.15 am (UK time) / 10.00-10.15 (CET): Welcome

9.15-9.45 am (UK time) / 10.15-10.45 (CET): Keynote Lecture Professor Roy K. Gibson (Durham University): Patterns of Arrangement in Greco-Roman letter collections: Isocrates to the sack of Rome (410 C.E)

 

Chair: Giulia Bernardini (Durham University)

10-10.20 am (UK time) / 11.00-11.20 (CET): Serena Cammoranesi (Manchester University): Patriam ipsam inflammandam reliquimus: The conceptualisation of Rome in Cicero’s Epistulae ad Familiares.

10.20-10.40 am (UK time) / 11.20-11.40 (CET): Laura Losito (Durham University): Rearranging Cicero’s Letters to Friends: the case of Book 5.

10.40-11 am (UK time) / 11.40-12.00 (CET): Dr. Janja Soldo (Maynooth University, Swansea): Seneca’s amici: the Epistulae Morales on friendship and on growing old.

11 am (UK time) / 12.00 (CET): Discussion

 

Chair: Prof. Alessandro Lagioia (Università degli Studi di Bari)

2.30-2.50 pm (UK time) / 15.30-15.50 (CET): Dr. Simona Martorana (Durham University): Letters Within Letters: Epistolary Practices, Letter Delivering, and Material Agency in Ovid’s Heroides.

2.50-3.10 pm (UK time) / 15.50-16.10 (CET): Enrico Simonetti (Università degli Studi di Bari): Vale, si potes. Ovidian Characters in Circe’s Epistle (Petron. 129.3-9).

3.10 pm (UK time) / 16.10 (CET): Discussion

 

 

26 November 2021

9-9.15 am (UK time) / 10.00-10.15 (CET): Welcome

9.15-9.45 am (UK time) / 10.15-10.45 (CET): Keynote Lecture Dr. Ruth Morello (ManchesterUniversity): The long year: letters and influence in 46 BC.

 

Chair: Dr. Joop van Waarden (Radboud Universiteit)

10-10.20 am (UK time) / 11.00-11.20 (CET): Matthew Mordue (Roehampton University): Thinking with Negative Exempla: The Regulus Cycle in Pliny’s Epistles.

10.20-10.40 am (UK time) / 11.20-11.40 (CET): Dr. Sara Fascione (Università degli Studi di Napoli): Grammarians, rhetors and school knowledge in Symmachus’ letter collection.

10.40-11 am (UK time) / 11.40-12.00 (CET): Dr. Giulia Marolla (Università degli Studi di Bari): Sidonius, Letters Book 5: Between Literary Fiction and Autobiography.

11 am (UK time) / 12.00 (CET): Discussion

 

Chair: Prof. Owen Hodkinson (University of Leeds)

2.30-2.50 pm (UK time) / 15.30-15.50 (CET): Dr. Antonios Pontoropoulos (Uppsala University): Literary representations of women and female subjectivities in ancient fictional letters.

2.50-3.10 pm (UK time) / 15.50-16.10 (CET): Effrosyni Tsakou (Université de Lille): Aristaenetus, an erotic meta-didaskalos.

3.10 pm (UK time) / 16.10 (CET): Discussion

3.30 (UK time) / 16.30 (CET): Closing remarks

 

 

The organising Committee

Dr. Giulia Marolla (Università degli Studi di Bari) Laura Losito (Durham University) Enrico Simonetti (Università degli Studi di Bari)