Mari Williams was born in Cardiff. Educated at Cardiff High School for Girls and Newnham College Cambridge, she has recently taught Latin and Greek at Cardiff University following a long career teaching in Welsh schools. Widow of the late William Elwyn Lloyd Williams of Abererch, Mari has written nine novels for different ages. Her book entitled Ysbryd yr Oes ‘Spirit of the Age’ won the Daniel Owen memorial Prize at the National Eisteddfod of Wales in 2018, where she was acclaimed as a ‘ fantastic story- writer …. who understands that history is a process’.


Douglas Cairns (FHEA, FRSE, FBA, MAE) is Professor of Classics in the University of Edinburgh. He first joined CA Council in 2002 as Honorary Secretary designate, and held the role of Honorary Secretary from 2003 to 2011. He was Chair of the Classical Association Journals Board from 2015 to 2020 before becoming Chair of Council. Douglas learned Latin and Greek at Eastbank Academy in Glasgow’s East End and did his MA and PhD at Glasgow University. He has taught at the Universities of St Andrews, Otago, Leeds, and Glasgow and has held visiting positions at Florida State, Fu Jen (Taiwan), Kyoto, Mainz, Pisa, and Tokyo. He currently leads a five-year ERC project on Honour in Classical Greece and holds an Anneliese Maier Research Prize, awarded by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.


James first encountered the classical world at primary school with a class project on the Romans but didn’t get the opportunity to study the societies of Greece and Rome formally until sixth-form college, where he took A Levels in Classical Civilisation and Ancient History.  He is now Professor of Classical Studies at the Open University, where his teaching and research focus on the Ancient Greek comic playwright, Aristophanes, attitudes towards sex and relationships in Classical Athens, and the Greek and Latin languages.  As Honorary Secretary, James works with Classical Association colleagues on a large range of activities, including liaising with CA conference organizers in host universities and advising on grant applications.  


Philip Hooker is a Cambridge Classics graduate and one of a large number of classicists who have pursued a career in business and commerce.   He joined Hoare Govett, the City stockbroker, in 1972, worked for many years in its corporate finance division, and is now retired.    He became a member of the newly-formed CA Finance Committee in 1999 and became Honorary Treasurer in 2000.


Sharon is a Senior Lecturer and the Director of Education in the Department of Classics and Ancient History at the University of Exeter, where she has taught for over ten years. Her teaching and research centres largely on Latin language and literature and she is particularly interested in the reception of classical literature among female authors in sixteenth-century France. Having been fortunate enough to attend a state school that offered Latin, she is committed to promoting the study of classical subjects at all levels in schools across the UK. Sharon also sits on the Standing Committee of the Council of University Classical Departments, where she holds the role of Statistics Officer and is responsible for the annual collection and publication of statistics on Classics in UK universities.


Dr Arlene Holmes-Henderson is a Research Fellow in the Faculty of Classics at the University of Oxford and at King’s College London where she specialises in Classics education. After studying Classics at Oxford, Harvard and Cambridge, Arlene qualified as a schoolteacher. She taught for more than a decade in a range of schools in the UK and internationally, leading departments and assuming school-wide responsibilities. She holds a doctorate in Classics education and is an expert in educational research, policy and practice. An advisor to governments in the UK and around the world on curriculum and assessment, she believes strongly the importance of knowledge exchange. Arlene is the Chair of the Classics Development Group and a member of the Teaching Board. For more information, see


Katrina is the chair of the Lytham St Annes branch of the Classical Association, which she founded in 2014 as a sixth-former and which has since grown to become the largest branch in the UK. She co-ordinates the branch’s outreach and engagement activities, including running the nationwide Classics Competition, and is passionate about widening access and participation in classics for people of all ages and backgrounds. A recent graduate of Magdalen College, Oxford, Katrina has been a resident Classics teacher at Bryanston School, and is currently studying for a Masters. Her research interests include urban history, Roman gardens and mapping transport development.

Elected Members

To retire 2021Dr Lucy Cresswell (Bishop’s Stortford College)
Dr Jane Rempel (University of Sheffield)
To retire 2022Dr Henriette van der Blom (University of Birmingham)
Dr John Curran (Queen’s University, Belfast)
Dr Liz Gloyn (Royal Holloway, University of London)
To retire 2023Dr Alex McAuley (Cardiff University)
To retire 2024Barbara Finney
Dr Lindsay Allen (King’s College London)

Co-opted Members

To retire 2021Dr Alison Henshaw (Nottingham Girls’ High School)
To retire 2021Dr Syrithe Pugh (University of Aberdeen)